FCA Complaints Handling

FCA Complaints Handling

​The FCA complaint handling requirements are contained in the Dispute Resolution Sourcebook and require firms to operate a complaint handling process, including ensuring that complaints are acknowledged promptly and that a full response is issued within 8 weeks of the complaint date.

Once the firm has completed its internal complaint handling process by issuing a final response, or if a final response is not issued by the firm within 8 weeks of the complaint date, the complainant may choose to take the complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Scheme.

This will involve:

If this occurs the firm must assist the Ombudsman and comply with any decision made by it.

As part of the firm’s systems and controls, it must undertake root cause analysis to ascertain what remedial action should be undertaken in order to prevent future complaints of the same nature from occurring.

Failure to undertake complaint handling in the appropriate way, or failing to assist the Ombudsman, can lead to the FCA taking enforcement action against your firm.

There are a number of ways we can help ensure that governance of your complaints processes is appropriate and include:

  • Review or design of your overall complaints process
  • Review and/or production of a written Complaints Procedure
  • Establishing the accuracy of current written procedures against firm actions
  • Review or design of supporting documents such as summary procedures and letter templates
  • Training of staff to implement new or revised procedures
  • Root cause analysis workshops to establish potential weaknesses in the business and prevent relapse

Ongoing FCA Compliance

As an FCA authorised person or firm, you might need help to ensure you comply with the FCA’s rules.

We provide our clients with support they need to maintain compliance and avoid breaching the rules. Our bespoke service is individually tailored to each of our client’s requirements and objectives to help them meet in the best way possible.

Whether you need documentation to help you remain compliant, want ongoing advice or support, impartial monitoring of your activities or anything else, MEMA may be able to help.

Why Choose MEMA?

Get started!

MEMA has been supporting firms through the FCA compliance process since 2019. In that time, we have helped hundreds of businesses to successfully gain and retain FCA authorisation.

We have a unique blend of experience from ex-regulators, big 4 consultants and fin/regtech specialisation. Our team is highly experienced and expertly skilled. We specialise in providing our clients with solutions to often complex regulatory requirements and compliance needs.

Our unique industry insight and comfort with compliance enables our team to support you to the fullest extent possible, helping to develop your business model and compliance.

Contact us

June 20, 2022

How to navigate the Skilled Person Review

As part of our How to series, we thought to release a brief guide on what to do when you are required to appoint a Skilled Persons by the regulator.

More about us

August 31, 2022

What is money laundering and what are some red flags you should consider?

Money laundering is the process of concealing or disguising the existence, source, movement, destination, or use of illicitly-derived property or funds to make them appear legitimate.

More about us

May 21, 2021

Claims Management Phoenixing

The FCA has released its latest consultation paper affecting the Claims Management Industry.

More about us

Insights

October 12, 2022

How to get FCA authorised (part 2)

As part of our How To series on 'How to get FCA authorised'. We are addressing all aspects of preparing for FCA authorisation. This will look to cover a range of key items your business should consider from the location of offices, and expected fees to resourcing.
More about us
May 21, 2021

Claims Management Phoenixing

The FCA has released its latest consultation paper affecting the Claims Management Industry.
More about us
December 6, 2021

Funeral plans come under FCA regulation July 2022

The FCA has confirmed that from 29 July 2022, it will take on responsibility for regulating and supervising the pre-paid funeral plans market.
More about us
April 11, 2021

Preparing financial projections for the FCA

In this article, we briefly cover the financial projections that companies are expected to produce when submitting their application to the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).
More about us
May 16, 2022

Learn how to conduct Wind Down Planning

The FCA recently completed a thematic review of wind-down processes across a number of business models. The review was aimed at reviewing firms on whether they held the appropriate liquidity, examining intragroup dependencies and wind-down triggers.
More about us
April 11, 2021

Preparing for your annual FCA Reporting Requirements

Your firm is due to submit its regulatory return(s) within 30 business days of your Accounting Reference Date. Reporting requirements apply to all firms with permissions to carry on regulated claims management activities, including firms with temporary permissions.
More about us
August 29, 2022

What is Customer Due Diligence and what controls should you focus on?

Customer due diligence (CDD) is a key element in helping your firm:
More about us
September 27, 2022

How to get FCA authorised (part 1)

We are launching a new How To series on 'How to get FCA authorised'. This will look to cover a range of key items your business should consider from the location of offices, expected fees to resourcing. We will start on the first few key areas covering
More about us
April 11, 2021

Understanding the FCA thematic review (part1)

The Financial Conduct Authority carries out regular ‘thematic reviews’ into areas requiring further review by firms in the financial services industry.
More about us
September 20, 2022

How to conduct a Business and Customer Risk Assessment

A business risk assessment provides visibility of the levels of AML risks within your firm to demonstrate the application of a risk-based approach. The outcome of the BRA is an AML risk rating for you and the organisational chart of business units is differentiated into high, medium or low risk. The BRA evaluates the AML risks faced by the business and demonstrates that it allocates resources according to the risk-based approach.
More about us
October 12, 2021

Understanding the Regulatory Landscape

At MEMA, in discussions with our customers (current and prospective) we identified a common theme, understanding the regulatory landscape is problematic and requires clearer descriptions aid understanding.
More about us
March 8, 2023

Buy now pay later agreements to become regulated in the UK

Currently, BNPLs and STFC companies benefit from the exemption under Article 60F of the Financial Services and Markets Act (Regulated Activities) Order 2001 (RAO). Firms providing BNPL products benefiting from the 60F Exemption do not have to be FCA authorised and the agreements do not need to be in a prescribed form under the CCA.
More about us
August 7, 2022

Preparing for the TPR Regime

The Temporary Permissions Regime ('TPR') was designed in response to Brexit to ensure that European firms operating in the UK via a passport could continue operating temporarily while they seek full authorisation in the UK.
More about us
January 7, 2022

FCA Fee Cap on CMCs

You will be aware that the FCA’s price cap is coming into existence on 1 March 2022. As a quick primer, this means there will now be five redress bands with a maximum fee charged per band.
More about us
December 7, 2022

Are you aware of the FCA rules to protect consumers from rogue financial promotions

Did you know that the FCA has published a consultation paper and press release setting out how it proposes to operate a new authorisations gateway for firms wanting to continue approving financial promotions for unauthorised persons.
More about us

Your key contacts

ADEMOLA OMOSANYA

Ademola is an accomplished consultant with over a decade of experience across regulation, banking, and consumer credit. As MEMA Consultants co-founder, he leverages extensive regulatory expertise to guide clients through critical processes and full compliance. His experience across sectors enables tailored solutions to complex business challenges. Ademola partners with clients as a strategic advisor to help futureproof their business through an in-depth understanding of the regulatory landscape.

MISAH MARAGH

Misah is a director at MEMA Consultants with over a decade of experience in financial services. Holding a legal background and postgraduate qualification, she previously worked at the Financial Conduct Authority. Misah has led compliance transformation for global consumer services organisations across Europe, the Caribbean, and Latin America. Her expertise includes implementing compliance frameworks for financial regulations, FCPA, UK Bribery Act, data privacy, and Sarbanes-Oxley. Misah is skilled at advising clients on operational and strategic projects, leveraging her in-depth knowledge of regulatory environments to deliver solutions tailored to complex business needs.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

FCA Complaints Handling